Please and Thank You

I feel so lucky to be able to embrace, wholeheartedly, the idea that I can improve my conscious contact with God. I acknowledge that many face seemingly insurmountable obstacles when even considering this. It started with the barest beginnings with me. Saying Please when I wake and Thank you as I lay down to end my day.

I am, in this piece, divulging my experience with spirituality. This is the principle behind AAs 11th step- Sought, through prayer and meditation, to improve our conscious contact with God As we understood Him, Praying only for knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out. 

There are a couple posts where I have talked/written about my faith both are here one within the other if you’re curious  https://wtfaiblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/15/what-is-easter-to-you/

stages
life cycle
I find it impossible to describe what or who my God is. I ascribe to the idea that God is incomprehensible to the human mind. In addition, that the greatest obstacle to finding God is the word, God. In my endeavor to get and stay clean and sober, I devoured all sorts of spiritual and religious texts. We here in the U.S.,  how each of us is exposed to God is one of family tradition. Neither my mother or father was outwardly religious, from what I can remember. I consider that a blessing, I had not been, “indoctrinated”, in any one flavor of Christianity. I, to this day, could not tell you the difference between a Baptist to a Lutheran and don’t think it matters. My encounter with God is personal and unique to myself. I have no right to say what is right for you.

I do believe though it is important to exhibit (be) an example of the change that God/Christ has made in my life, however failingly.

wild
Growing Wild
There is a source of Grace, Mercy, Strength, and Love available to any and all who find a reason to seek for any of those. It is unlimited and infinite. I have found it is also not possible to ever stop getting closer to this source. Call what you will, if any who care to, can stop and be still for even a moment, will find it is there and always will be.

peoney wet
touched by the rain
Like the fragrance of a flower, the warmth of the sun, the refreshment of a summer rain, God is in me and I am in Him. Spirituality is the cornerstone/keystone of my life today. As best as I am able I am in a constant state of prayer/meditation/mindfulness. If I get caught up in my natural frailties, inevitably something brings me back, a bug hitting my windshield,  a bird in flight, the breeze on a hot day, the smile of a stranger, the beauty of a piece of music or the way lyrics of a song touch. Events such as these will help me remember what I’m here for. To be of service, more in my next installment.

 

15 thoughts on “Please and Thank You

  1. Agree. Many who have not hit rock bottom will never know what we are talking about. Some counselors get very perplexed over this one and try to read too much into something they have no personal connection to

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well-written, Brother, and inspiring. I so agree, it is not our job to tell others how or what to think or to believe but like hungry people who have found bread, or the once blind who have seen beauty, we have a duty to share. Thanks for sharing the feast and the beauty. Keep shining, Starlight.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. We have found this a very well thought out and presented post. Your phrase “I do believe though it is important to exhibit (be) an example of the change that God/Christ has made in my life, however failingly.” is what we believe to by paramount in our walk.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Good Orderly Direction, thats what helps me as i don’t have a fixed idea of what God is, got myself all caught up trying to work that one out! Great post and a great tune although I a bit partial to the Dixie Chicks version๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Beautifully said, God is everywhere. There are times we may question his presence, especially the hard times, but it is he who helps us and gives us strengh to get through them. He is the only one, I can talk to. No matter what your race, your religion, your faith, how you call on him. God is one. And he is there for all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

