How does that lead to Integrity?

Welcome, if you’ve not been following along on our trip, investigating the spiritual principles behind working the steps found in the 12 Steps, primarily from the book Alcoholics Anonymous

So here we are at Step 5 Admitted to God, to ourselves and to another human being, the exact nature of our wrongs. I am not going to talk here, about how it’s done, or why, or the ways to overcome the inevitable reluctance to performing this step. There is a plethora of writing on those subjects.

I want to relay my experience of how admitting the sheer wretchedness of myself leads to integrity.

Integrity- noun

1. adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.

2. the state of being whole, entire, or undiminished:

3. a sound, unimpaired, or perfect condition.

 

When I first learned that integrity was the principle behind this, I automatically thought #1 here and was confused other than the idea of integrating my entire past, however repulsive, by honest admission.
I have found, though that this step is imperative to arriving at #2 being whole.
Throughout my life, I denied or fought my demons or impaired myself to escape it. In doing so I gave these secrets power, which in turn pushed me to even more erratic insanity. I have to be a member of the human race and society, however painful it is. By sharing my weaknesses and flaws with another, healing my battered character can begin.
10 thoughts on “How does that lead to Integrity?

  1. Once you bring the dark out of hiding its such a relief. We really need someone to share our honest flaws with I see them as places our development got stymied…then we have to face up to how we are perpertating those flaws or not developing strong and true and yes with integrity. Thanks for this …honesty willingness openness.👍

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh yes I love it when that happens. I think this about integrity is so important. I was thinking about what Laurie said when we get these little knowings it’s such a beautiful sign that we are shifting and transforming. I really like that a lot! It’s a more gentle way of healing. ♡

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

