Unplug, disconnect. Shutting down, now. It’s time.

I have, in the past, shut down, as I like to call it. Every so often I will disable interactive apps on my phone, turn off the computer and live the way many did before the rise of the internet. Days of hand-written letters and cards. Having conversations face to face. Using more primitive ways of finding out about things.

Every time I do, I am better off for it. I become aware of the real value of the use of these “conveniences”. I also recognize how much of a false sense of importance I derive from these activities. I read somewhere that everything works better when you perform a hard reset on your devices.

This will be the first time doing it since I’ve started writing here. I am never sure how long I will remain unplugged, It has been as short as just a few hours and as long as several days. I am not one to put a time -table on it, that way, in my opinion, I don’t clock watch. I am gentle with myself for craving what I get here, it’s all part of the modern life we live and if I am to make any kind of meaningful contribution, I believe it to be necessary to connect quickly and effectively.

The things I will not miss are disingenuous indifference, stinging sarcasm, deliberate avoidance and overall misunderstanding due to distorted perception.

Namaste and peace to you all

20 thoughts on “Unplug, disconnect. Shutting down, now. It’s time.

  1. I got rid of Fakebook 4 years ago…unreal the difference it made. On the funny dude, people I met genuinely asked after my wellbeing” as I wasn’t on FB anymore” Jesus. I am now looking at losing instaspam as I find myself judging myself. This I must add I down to me and not anti social media😊 I have to imagine there are lots if people who have a health relationship with it. Enjoy the break.😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

