And acceptance is the answer

via Daily Prompt: Acceptance

I know this has probably been posted thousands of times, it is the one paragraph from the Big Book Alcoholics Anonymous that saved me from picking up more times than I can count. And for this prompt, in my humble opinion, it bears repeating.

And acceptance is the answer to all of my problems today. When I am disturbed, it is because I find some person, place, thing or situation–some fact of my life –unacceptable to me, and I can find no serenity until I accept that person, place thing or situation as being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment. Nothing, absolutely nothing happens in God’s world by mistake. Until I could accept my alcoholism (addiction), I could not stay sober (clean); unless I accept life completely on life’s terms, I cannot be happy. I need to concentrate not so much on what needs to be changed in the world (reality), as in what needs to be changed in me and in my attitudes. (response to reality).

I know, I know it was too easy but, go ahead, kick me while I’m down, it’s appropriate and I’ll thank you for it.

The Way It Is – Tesla

9 thoughts on “And acceptance is the answer

Leave a Reply

