The Longing

As created beings, we are all, I believe, born with or develop what I call the longing.

It is a craving, a desire a hunger for something to allow us to feel whole or just okay.
Growing up I was exposed to religion and took part, but it was just something that I had no choice about, at that time. Consequently, I did not receive the gifts available there.
I consumed everything voraciously,  music, sports, friends, romance, cars tools, equipment, sex and eventually alcohol and drugs.

Which of course led to a cataclysmic collision with the inevitable bottom.
I discovered that this longing is put there by God.

That it is only a personal and intimate growing relationship with Him that quells this longing

Both are gifts of His grace

5 thoughts on “The Longing

Leave a Reply

