What even is that?

What even is it, to love. According to Anthony de Mello it is to see clearly, as much as that is possible for a human, and to respond accurately.

To see others clearly, imho is to see, myself clearly. I have been on a quest of sorts to know what love is. Thomas Merton suggests that we commonly project onto others what is actually within ourselves. “The beginning of love is the will to let those we love to be perfectly themselves, the resolution not to twist them to fit our own image. If in loving them we do not love what they are, but only their potential likeness to ourselves, then we do not love them: we only love the reflection of ourselves we find in them”
― Thomas Merton

How is it then, I can see or perceive what I am, I have to find out for myself, no one can tell me, I have to pay attention…Oh great, one of my favorite things to do, lol. This is where everything I have ever learned about spirituality, waking up, being, etc. is.

Be present, just today Paulo Coelho posted

Today

I love this, to live and experience each moment, each breath, as a new discovery like it’s the first time I have ever.

Well, I have some work to do, however, it should be enlightening ha ha.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What even is that?

  1. I love this playfulness with the word love. Love from my experience has always been painful. I was thinking that maybe without the pain I wouldn’t have known the depths of never giving up no matter what shows up and the love connection that forms in the waiting. Blah what do I know really. I’m just commenting what comes. I love the start of your blog. 🌼

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

